Confidential Marriage License
Issued By Notary Public
Riverside County, California
Application / Worksheet
- The instructions you are about to read pertain solely to obtaining a Confidential Marriage License (i.e., this is not a Public License) through a Notary Public certified to provide such license for marriage ceremonies officiated within Riverside County, CA. These instructions may not apply to obtaining such license directly from the Riverside County Recorder's Office. Please contact a Riverside County Recorder's office for clarification as to their requirements respecting the issuance of a Confidential Marriage License.
- Specialized Wedding Services strongly advises that you obtain a public marriage license. It is only in those exceptional circumstances where it is necessary to keep the marriage date confidential or when it is not possible for you to visit a California Clerk / Recorder's Office (e.g., arriving in Palm Springs on a Saturday, when county offices are closed or for some other reason) that a Confidential Marriage License may be necessary. Please know that complications can and do occur later on when copies of the confidential license are requested, and such copies can only be issued to the bride or groom, or to others by court order. That said, ....
- You will be completing the Specialized Wedding Services Application / Worksheet requesting that Reverend Virginia or Reverend Stan officiates at your wedding ceremony and that a Confidential Marriage License be issued to you. This is a legal document and utmost care must be taken to accurately complete and provide the information to us. If for any reason the information is incorrect, it is your ultimate responsibility.
- Both parties seeking a Confidential Marriage License must personally appear before the issuing notary public. There are no exceptions. The notary public will contact you to schedule an appointment.
- A Confidential Marriage License issued by the Riverside County Clerk to a notary public shall be valid only for a period of 90-days after its issuance by such County Clerk and may only be used for ceremonies performed within Riverside County.
- You must be an unmarried man and an unmarried woman at least eighteen (18) years of age. A Confidential Marriage License will not be issued to anyone under the age of 18 years, even if such person is an Emancipated Minor.
- You must be able to swear under penalty of perjury that you are living together as husband and wife at the time the license is purchased. There is no set time that you must be living together to qualify for a Confidential License.
- You MUST know of no legal objection to your marriage or to the issuance of a license.
- You must bring with you appropriate identification. Please click here for detailed information.
- If either applicant has been divorced within 90 days of the issuance of the marriage license, a copy of the FINAL Decree IS REQUIRED. The Register of Action showing that the written final Decree of Divorce has been entered is acceptable. The divorce paperwork does not need to be certified. A copy of a Minute Order IS NOT ACCEPTABLE. If an applicant has been divorced for a period in excess of 90 days of the issuance of the marriage license, such applicant must provide the actual date of divorce (i.e., the date the final decree was entered).
- The non-refundable Confidential Marriage License fee is $300. This includes the license, notary fees and a $200 deposit paid to Specialized Wedding Services to secure your wedding date. Additional fees will be incurred, if notary travels to your hotel or other location. After you successfully submit the application to us, you will find the payment link at the very bottom of the Thank You Confirmation page.